Olympic Torch Comes to Tynemouth – 15 June 2012

Posted: June 15, 2012 in i Pad, Photography
Tags: , ,

It’s not everyday that you can say the Olympic torch has been to your street, but half an hour ago it did just that. I walked down the street about ten minutes before it was scheduled to arrive and the carnival atmosphere was very evident. We had heavy rain this morning and I was wondering if the local schools would turn out to greet the torch, we were lucky and although overcast it remained dry and there were lots of children and local residents out to see the spectacle. Even the people who work in the local supermarket were out to witness the occasion. I spoke to a couple with a child after crossing the street to get a better look as the cavalcade did a loop around Tynemouth Front Street and was informed that the chap carrying the torch was Pablo from the Pizza Shop. I’m sorry I don’t know who the lady is who ran before him. I didn’t expect to feel as emotional as I did and several people I spoke to felt the same way. So today I’m posting lots of photos so that you can share the atmosphere. They may not be the best shots in the world as they were taken quickly with my i phone as it happened. Hope you enjoy them! Let me know. Sue x

What does the song say? It makes me feel proud….. I didn’t expect that.

Comments
  1. I think that’s awesome. I think you’re awesome too and I’m so happy to know you. I nominated you for 3 awards. ~Patricia http://decamvilledesign.wordpress.com/2012/06/15/day-124-three-awards-for-me-thank-you/

  2. Carol Ann says:

    so true, I have watched the torch go by now twice… once in Montreal Quebec Canada and once in Calgary, Alberta Canada…. each time it’s just amazing…. glad you got to see it! Regards, Carol Anne from Calgary

I'd love to know what you think. So leave me a comment. Sue x

