18 March 2012 – Woodblock Lioness

Posted: March 18, 2012 in Art, Design, Nature
Tags: , , ,

In my post on 10 March 2012 I showed you a line drawing of a lioness. This is the same subject which I carved into a Box Wood Block and printed. At the time, I was at college and most people chose to spend their time in a tiny booth at the back of the studio screenprinting. I didn’t, I learnt to etch and also carve lino and wood to make my prints. There was a fantastic press which made registering your print a breeze and how I would love to own something similar! The tools which I borrowed had different patterns on their cutting edges and enabled me to produce the patterned line that I love so much. If you look at traditional wood block printing mine is a trifle crude, but I think this has a majesty about it that couldn’t be achieved any other way. Hope you like it. Let me know.

I'd love to know what you think. So leave me a comment. Sue x

