8 March 2012

Posted: March 8, 2012 in Art, Design, Nature
Tags: , , , ,

These are some of my most recent sketches. I sat in the front garden which is quite small last autumn and drew these in pencil. I wasn’t very happy with some of these studies, but this week I have been sketching with a Pitt Pen size S and I redrew 4 of them. I am rather pleased with the way they turned out. I was always pleased with the drawing on the bottom right but I’m equally pleased with the redraw on the bottom left. I was trying to capture the sun behind the flower and by using a dashed and dotted line I feel that it now works. So don’t give up on a poor drawing, why not revisit some of your own and see if you can use a different medium like I did.

Comments
  1. Very pretty! Whenever I see things in a sketch book I always think of Da Vinci’s sketches.

  2. sueamour says:

    Thanks for your kind words.This is a major achievement for me as I have difficulty committing to a sketchbook. I had one stolen from a drawer whilst at college and it’s taken me years to get over it.

I'd love to know what you think. So leave me a comment. Sue x

