2 March 2012 – Zentangle Etching?

Posted: March 2, 2012 in Art, Design, Nature, Photography
Tags: , , , , , ,

After the success of posting my Fantasy Flower I thought I would tease you all with this little montage of views of my final etching. I used an i phone app called Diptic. It’s extremely easy to use and allows you to collate a selection of your photos quickly and easily. You can move the photo around in the selected box with your finger to get just the right placement. I really enjoyed the fineness of the line I was able to achieve with a stylus in the wax prior to etching the plate. I love repeated pattern and like to play with distorting it to represent shading. I think I was light years ahead of Zentangle. I am very fond of turquoise and have combined it with apricot on the plate prior to printing. As you can see the word SOIL when printed is reversed and becomes a pattern in and of itself. I like the difference in line thickness too which helps to make the piece balanced….. I won’t be too mean I’ll post a shot of the whole thing in a day or two!

I'd love to know what you think. So leave me a comment. Sue x

