26 February 2012

Posted: February 26, 2012 in 365 days, Art, Craft, Quotes
Tags: , , ,

I started this little 4″ x 4″ Pink Pig book  a couple of years ago. I intend to fill it with quotes that I love and pages that I have decorated. I used a rubber stamp to print the tile design and a Gelly Roll pen to outline  it and to write the quote. Some people can be a bit sniffy about using rubber stamps, I see them as a design tool and they can be used in very artistic ways. The left hand page has a thin layer of gesso on first and an ink wash over the top.  I really like the fact that paint and ink from the pages in front and behind have found their way onto these pages and have created their own pathways. What a great quote ” Life is a great big canvas, and you should throw all the paint on it you can!”    Perhaps we should all be throwing around a bit more paint in our lives! What do you think? Leave me a comment….

 

Comments
  1. I have a white notebook where I write down all the quotes I love but this little notebook you have is so charming! It’s really effective. I love doing ink washes but when i do them I usualy tend to use black ink and then work in with a black biro, your technique is lovely though so I’ll be sure to experimnt with it sometime. Great post 🙂 x

    • sueamour says:

      Hi Tes
      Thanks for your kind words. Try and use a water based ink or runny watercolour over the gesso which absorbs the ink or paint. You could then use biro over the top. I’ve got a great little set of coloured biros I bought in the supermarket.

I'd love to know what you think. So leave me a comment. Sue x

