18 February 2012

Posted: February 18, 2012 in 365 days, Art, Nature
Tags: , ,

I have just been watching a very interesting documentary on Lucien Freud on BBC2 this evening. I was surprised at how naive some of his drawings were. It then occurred to me that I haven’t as yet shared any of my drawings. I drew this rose quite a few years ago, and gave it a very pale pink wash to enhance the petals. I’ve been very lazy regarding drawing over the past couple of years, I believe it’s like a muscle the more you use it the better it gets. I want to make a concerted effort to draw more as I had forgotten how much I  love the process of looking at an object in-depth and trying to reproduce what I see. Each person has their own view on the world and how you draw is as personal as your signature.Some people say they cannot draw. I believe everyone can draw and just need their talents nurturing. How many people were told as a child that they weren’t good enough, when in fact they hadn’t been taught properly. Even a little doodle is drawing so believe in your ability and use a soft pencil at least a 2B, and if you can find a battery operated eraser so much the better!

I'd love to know what you think. So leave me a comment. Sue x

